A TIME, A RUIN

FINAL YEAR PROJECT

- 2nd year Master's 2016  / 2017 -

What is Time?

« You can not see, hear, touch or smell it, yet it governs our lives and everything around us. »

- Adam Hart Davis
Rendu Perspective 3D - Jennifer Kache
00_Vue_globale_extérieur_jour_02.jpg

INTRODUCTION

The absence of a presence, a ruin with many memories

When it comes to an abandoned place, many debates surface about its fate.

Should we keep it? destroy it? rebuild it identically?

This is a debate that is especially neglected in my country, Lebanon, knowing that we always favor the ease of destruction to the effort of preservation.

It is a country that has experienced various wars and crises, therefore in a perpetual struggle between its past and its present. It is for this reason that Lebanon chooses to create a new image of modernity by the destruction of these ruins.

In order to reflect these two facets of the country, mainly its state of existence with multiple scars and the architectural intervention aimed at destruction, the tripoli station becomes a message and memory for its heritage and history that it contains.

HISTORY

TRIPOLI

TRAIN  STATION

Tripoli's Train Station was opened in 1911 and was connected to the Syrian city, Homs, with one lane. It formed the terminus of the Orient Express line in the twenties, thirties and forties of the last century.
During the First World War, the Tripoli / Homs connection got severally damaged by the Ottomans. Ruined, the station was nationalized in 1920 at the time of the French mandate in Lebanon and Syria.


In 1943, after the independence of Lebanon, the station became the property of the Lebanese state. It has been abandoned since 1975. The station no longer exists after the collapse and destruction of one of its roof, but nevertheless two maintenance buildings remain, housing many trains and wagons in ruins.

Tripoli railway station

  Lebanon 1900 - 1920

Source: Library of Congress image
Source: Photo taken by Jennifer Kache

Tripoli Train Station

  Lebanon 2017

CONCEPT OF THE PROJECT

From the immaterial to the scenographic

Today, Tripoli's Train Station is found completely destroyed.
However, there are the two service buildings which had the function of maintaining the trains, and in which are still the locomotives and wagons.


In order to revive the memory of rail transportation and memory of this station, now these two non-functional and non-existent maintenance buildings are kept preserved. Nevertheless, a new architecture graft takes place between these last two and serves as a stitch. This structure echoes the many modern reconstructions by its glass hull and returns the image of reconstruction after a destruction by its white color, in reference to an empty base lacking history.
It is also on this spot that will take place the exhibition of the history of the Tripoli station as well as temporary exhibitions to show Lebanon through the eye of the younger generation.

Knowing that the elderly have known Lebanon in all its glory and its history, young people are eager to immortalize what remains of its heritage before it disappears. The young generation retains a very different image of Lebanon and rarely has the chance to express itself, which is why the exhibition space will be an opportunity for them to show their country in their own way.

THE RESTAURANT

04_Vue du Restaurant.jpg
3D Perspective Rendering - Jennifer Kache

The dining area reflects the love of the Lebanese towards their gastronomy. Much more than a simple culinary art, spending a moment around a meal extends over several hours, it is also one of the key elements for all gatherings and discussions. A family meal can last between 3 to 6 hours with a huge table filled completely. This is a point that I wanted to put forward in this restaurant area with tables in lengths for large groups knowing that a meal always includes a large number of people.

 

Highlighting the longitudinal axis of the building, the tables are placed in a row between the existing rails thus give the illusion of forming a single table that can accommodate several groups. There is also a locomotive and a car completely repainted in white , acting as a critic of society by making this vestige neutral and untraceable like a simple, worthless vase. The roof remains a highly impacting visual element since its renovation preserves the frame of the voids that time has drawn, and by consequence filled with glass plates. Always in the same idea of criticism, white panels cover some windows and serve as a table to make people look outside.

3D Perspective Rendering - Jennifer Kache

THE HOTEL

In order to extend the experience to the next day, the hospitality space offers a unique experience in Lebanon, that of spending the night in one of the wagons turned into a bedroom.
The charm of the devastated appearance of the wagons is preserved outside while the interior is rehabilitated in a more modern way to be able to spend a calm night while reflecting again the double reality of the country.

There is also a reading room with books either written by Lebanese authors or telling about Lebanon and its war, allowing visitors to discover the place and relax.

The roof also keeps its positive and negative grid with its glass plates that fill the voids. This omnipresent element makes the memories of the war vivid by its semi-destructed and its fragile aspect.

3D Perspective Rendering - Jennifer Kache

THE EXHIBITION

The exhibition space reflects the image of a blank sheet explaining the destruction and reconstruction from zero on a neutral ground.
This space is stitched to the existing architecture and comes in white on its points of contact.
It creates a visual contrast to expose the two facets of the country, mainly the heritage of these ruins and modern reconstruction that replace them.
In order to immerse the visitor in the history of the Tripoli station, the flow is created with a slope between the existing rails on the ground, and the structure of the cars acts as a tunnel below which the visitor wanders and discovers photographs.
These photographs show the old station and moments immortalized, and are represented on a transparent filter attached to the structure of the cars.
In order to reflect the dual realities of the country, the transparency of the filters is filled by a background of black color. The visitor is forced to face each photograph to visualize it correctly, which symbolizes the fact of facing the reality of two opposites that are superimposed in the daily life of the Lebanese: modernity against ruin.
There is also a temporary exhibition located on both sides of the cars. Their purpose is to offer young people the chance to express themselves in this space by showing Lebanon through their eyes.

We can also find structures created in a pentagon shape of the two buildings that serve as criticism of the destruction and reconstruction, symbol of the ease of duplicating an architecture to infinity.

Gare de Tripoli - Expo-01.jpg
3D Perspective Rendering - Jennifer Kache
Gare de tripoli - Expo 03.jpg
3D Perspective Rendering - Jennifer Kache
Gare-de-Tripoli---Expo-02.jpg
3D Perspective Rendering - Jennifer Kache
MODEL- CardBoard, Laser Cut
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© 2023 by Design for Life.

UN TEMPS, UNE RUINE

PROJET DE FIN D'ÉTUDE

- 2ème année de mastère 2016  / 2017 -

Qu’est ce que le Temps ?

« On ne peut le voir, l’entendre, le toucher ou le sentir et, pourtant, il gouverne nos vies et tout ce qui nous entoure. »

- Adam Hart Davis
Rendu Perspective 3D - Jennifer Kache
00_Vue_globale_extérieur_jour_02.jpg

INTRODUCTION

L'absence d'une présence, une ruine aux multiples souvenirs

Lorsqu'il s'agit d'un espace abandonné, de nombreux débats font surface concernant le destin de ce dernier. Faut-il le conserver? le détruire? le reconstruire à l'identique?
C'est un débat qui est surtout négligé dans mon pays , le Liban, sachant que l'on privilégie toujours la facilité de la destruction à l'effort de la préservation.

C'est un pays qui a connu différentes guerres et de nombreuses crises, qui est en perpétuel combat entre son passé et qui coexiste avec son présent. C'est d'ailleurs pour cette raison que le Liban choisit de privilégier une nouvelle image de modernité à celle de ces ruines et cela, par la destruction de ces dernières.

Afin de refléter ces deux facettes du pays, à savoir l'état de l'existant aux multiples cicatrices et l'intervention architecturale qui vise la destruction, la gare de tripoli devient une sorte de message et de souvenir pour le patrimoine et l'histoire qu'il renferme.

HISTORIQUE

LA GARE DE TRIPOLI

La gare de Tripoli a été ouverte en 1911 et a été relié à la ville syrienne, Homs, avec une seule voie. Elle a formé le terminus de la ligne Orient Express dans les années vingt, trente et quarante du siècle dernier.
Pour des raisons militaires, pendant la Première Guerre Mondiale, les Ottomans ont endommagé la ligne de Tripoli / Homs.
Ruiné, la station a été nationalisée en 1920 à l’époque du mandat français au Liban et en Syrie.


En 1943, après l’indépendance, la station est devenue la propriété de l’état libanais. Elle est à l’abandon depuis 1975 jusqu’à ce jour et est très peu connu par les nouvelles générations.
La gare en question n'existe plus suite à son écroulement et sa destruction, il reste néanmois les deux bâtiments qui servaient d'entretien et de révision pour les locomotives, abritant de nombreux trains et wagons en ruine.

Tripoli railway station

  Liban 1900 - 1920

Source: Library of Congress image
Source: Photo Prise par Jennifer Kache

Station De Train à Tripoli

  Liban 2017

CONCEPT DU PROJET

De l'Immatériel à la scénographique

En état actuel, la gare de Tripoli est complètement détruite.
Cependant, on retrouve les deux bâtiments de service qui avaient comme fonction d'entretenir les trains, et dans lequel se trouve toujours les locomotives et les wagons de ces derniers.
Afin de pouvoir faire revivre le souvenir des transports ferroviaires et la mémoire de cette gare, aujourd'hui non fonctionnelle et inexistante, les deux bâtiments d'entretien sont conservés. Néanmoins, une sorte de greffe architecture prend place entre ces deux derniers et fait office de liaison. Cette structure fait écho aux nombreuses reconstructions modernes de par sa coque en verre et renvoi l'image de reconstruction après une destruction de par sa couleur blanche, en référence à une base vide et sans histoire.
C'est d'ailleurs dans cet espace qu'aura lieu l'exposition de l'historique de la gare de Tripoli ainsi que des expositions temporaires visant à montrer le Liban à travers l'oeil de la jeune génération .
Sachant que les personnes âgées ont connu le Liban dans toute sa splendeur et son histoire, les jeunes s'empressent d'immortaliser ce qui reste de son patrimoine avant que ce dernier ne disparaît à cause des nombreuses interventions. La jeune génération garde une image très différente du Liban et a rarement la chance de s'exprimer, c'est pour cette raison que l'espace d'exposition sera l'opportunité pour eux de montrer leur pays à leur façon.

LE RESTAURANT

04_Vue du Restaurant.jpg
Rendu Perspective 3D - Jennifer Kache

L'espace de restauration reflète l'amour des Libanais envers leur gastronomie. Bien plus qu'un simple art culinaire, passer un moment autour d'un repas s'étend sur plusieurs heures, c'est d'ailleurs une des clés majeures pour tous les rassemblements et les discussions.Un repas en famille peut durer entre 3 à 6 h avec une table remplie à vue d'oeil sur plusieurs mètres. C'est un point que j'ai souhaité mettre en avant dans cet espace restaurant avec des tables en longueurs pour de larges groupes sachant qu'un repas regroupe toujours un grand nombre de personnes.
Mettant en valeur l'axe longitudinal du bâtiment, les tables sont placées en enfilade entre les rails existants et donnent l'illusion de former une seule et même table pouvant accueillir plusieurs groupes.On y retrouve également une locomotive et un wagon complètement repeint en blanc, faisant office de critique envers la société en rendant ce vestige neutre et sans traces comme un simple vase sans valeur. La toiture reste un élément visuel très impactant puisque cette dernière est rénovée en préservant la trame des vides que le temps a dessiné et en comblant ces derniers par des plaques vitrées. Toujours dans la même idée de critique, des panneaux blancs viennent recouvrir certaines fenêtres et font office de table permettant de fixer son regard vers l'extérieur.

Rendu Perspective 3D - Jennifer Kache

L'HÔTEL

Afin de pouvoir prolonger l'expérience jusqu'au lendemain, l'espace hôtellerie offre une expérience unique au Liban, celle de passer la nuit dans un des wagons transformé en chambre à coucher.
Le charme de l'aspect dévasté des wagons est conservé à l'extérieur alors que l'intérieur est réhabilité de manière plus moderne pour pouvoir y passer une nuit au calme tout en reflétant à nouveau la double réalité du pays.
On retrouve également un salon de lecture avec des livres écrits par des auteurs libanais ou sur le thème du Liban et de la guerre permettant aux visiteurs de découvrir et de se détendre.

La toiture conserve également sa trame de vide et de plein avec des plaques vitrées qui viennent combler les vides. Cet élement omniprésent fait vivre les souvenirs de la guerre de par sa semi-destruction et son aspect fragile.

Rendu Perspective 3D - Jennifer Kache

L'EXPOSITION

L'espace d'exposition reflète l'image d'une feuille blanche faisant écho à la destruction et à la reconstruction de zéro sur un terrain neutre.
Cet espace vient se greffer à l'architecture existante et vient peindre en blanc les points de contact avec cette dernière.
Il crée ainsi un contraste visuel visant à exposer les deux facettes du pays, à savoir le patrimoine de ces ruines et les reconstructions modernes qui les remplace.
Afin de plonger le visiteur dans l'historique de la gare de Tripoli, la circulation se fait en pente entre les rails existant au sol et la structure des wagons fait office de tunnel en dessous duquel le visiteur déambule et découvre des photographies.
Ces photographies sont celles de l'ancienne gare et des moments immortalisés sur ces dernières, et sont présentées sur un filtre transparent accroché à la structure des wagons.
Afin de refléter la double realité du pays, la transparence des filtres est comblée par un arrière-plan de couleur noire, le visiteur se voit donc obliger de se mettre en face de chaque photographie pour la visualiser correctement et symbolise le fait de faire face à la réalité de deux opposés qui se superposent dans le quotidien des Libanais, la modernité contre la ruine.
On retrouve également une exposition temporaire se situant de part et d'autres des wagons. Le but de cette dernière est d'offrir aux jeunes la chance de s'exprimer dans cet espace en montrant le Liban à travers leur regard.
On retrouve également des structures reprenant la forme pentagon des deux bâtiments qui font office de critique envers la destruction et la reconstruction, symbole de la facilité de dupliquer une architecture à l'infini.

Gare de Tripoli - Expo-01.jpg
Rendu Perspective 3D - Jennifer Kache
Gare de tripoli - Expo 03.jpg
Rendu Perspective 3D - Jennifer Kache
Gare-de-Tripoli---Expo-02.jpg
Rendu Perspective 3D - Jennifer Kache
MAQUETTE- Carton Bois, Découpe Laser
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© 2023 by Design for Life.